Awards Program

Awards of Excellence Program

We are now accepting nominations for the 2024 Awards for Outstanding Historic Theatre and Outstanding Individual Contribution. Submission deadline is April 23rd. The winners will be announced during the 47th National Conference in Milwaukee, WI, July 7-10, 2024.

If you are interested in nominating a theatre or individual this year, please click here to first complete online a brief Intent to Nominate Form (required to declare your intent to submit a 2024 nomination).

Click the appropriate icon below to review the 2024 nomination process, including eligibility requirements, judging criteria and submission package requirements.

Updated 02.28.2024

The League's Awards Program inspires excellence by recognizing theatres and individuals for their significant accomplishments or distinguished service to our field. There are two Annual awards presented at the National Conference:

Outstanding Historic Theatre Award

The Outstanding Historic Theatre Award recognizes a theatre that demonstrates excellence through its community impact, quality of programs and services, and quality of the restoration or rehabilitation of its historic structure. An award-winning theatre will have demonstrated excellence through significant achievement, the impact of its services and breadth of populations served, and the length of time and/or intensity of its activities.

Outstanding Historic Theatre Award
2024 Nomination Requirements

Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution

The Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution recognizes an individual who demonstrates vision, dedication, selflessness and excellence through his/her/their contribution to historic theatres and their communities as a volunteer, board member, patron, donor, service provider, staff member or historic theatre advocate-at-large. The recipient of this award will have demonstrated excellence through his/her/their significant contributions, the impact of their services and breadth of populations served, and the length of time and/or intensity of contributions that benefit the field of historic theatres.

Outstanding Individual Contribution Award
2024 Nomination Requirements

In addition to the two annual awards, LHAT also presents The Marquee Award which recognizes exemplary artists whose names have lit up the marquees of America's historic theatres. The Marquee Award is also presented at the national conference but not necessarily annually.

On July 16, 2023, at the Sheraton Kansas City at Crown Center during the League's 47th Annual Conference in Kansas City, the League of Historic American Theatres celebrated excellence in the field of historic theatres. Read the full press release here.

And the 2023 Awards for Excellence go to...

2023 Outstanding Historic Theatre Award

was awarded to

Folly Theater

Kansas City, MO

(Read more and View photo)

2023 Outstanding Individual Contribution Award

was awarded to

George Levesque

Paramount Theatre, Abilene, TX

(Read more and View photo)

Past Awards Winners

Learn about the

Theatres, Individuals, and Marquee Awards

presented in the past.

See the list here