Awards Program

LHAT Awards Program

LHAT is now accepting nominations for its 2018 Awards for Excellence! Submission deadline: April 27.

Complete Brief Online Nomination Form (required to declare your intent to submit a 2018 nomination)

Download complete 2018 eligibility requirements, review criteria and submission details:

The 2018 Awards will be presented during a ceremony at the League's 42nd National Conference in Austin, TX, July 15-18 (ceremony date TBA).

Questions? Email LHAT

LHAT Awards Statue

LHAT Awards Statue, designed and donated by
EverGreene Architectural Arts

The League's Awards Program inspires excellence by recognizing theatres and individuals for their significant accomplishments or distinguished service to our field. There are two Annual awards presented at the National Conference:

  • The Outstanding Historic Theatre Award recognizes a theatre that demonstrates excellence through its community impact, quality of programs and services, and quality of the restoration or rehabilitation of its historic structure. An award-winning theatre will have demonstrated excellence through significant achievement, the impact of its services and breadth of populations served, and the length of time and/or intensity of its activities.
  • The Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution recognizes an individual who demonstrates vision, dedication, selflessness and excellence through his or her contribution to historic theatres and their communities as a volunteer, board member, patron, donor, service provider, staff member or historic theatre advocate-at-large. The recipient of this award will have demonstrated excellence through his or her significant contributions, the impact of his or her services and breadth of populations served, and the length of time and/or intensity of contributions that benefit the field of historic theatres.

In addition to the two annual awards, LHAT also presents The Marquee Award which recognizes exemplary artists whose names have lit up the marquees of America's historic theatres. The Marquee Award is also presented at the national conference but not necessarily annually.

2017 Awards Recipients

2017 Outstanding Historic Theatre Award


The Paramount Theater of Charlottesville, Inc.
Charlottesville, VA

(Read more and View photos)

2017 Outstanding Individual Contribution Award



(Read more and View photos)

Click here to learn about past awards winners.